Instagram

World of Choices

April 6, 2021
Virtual

 

 

A Whole New World

Welcome to World of Choices! Bringing students together with career mentors is what it is all about.

In a combined effort of live, virtual events on a digital platform, classrooms from Southern Alberta and Manitoba will tune in to a session (or 2) of inspiring speakers and engaging discussion. Through a series of four virtual events over four weeks students will be exposed to more options and opportunities than ever before. Each event will feature five to six unique Career Mentors representing different industries

 

Teachers

Your role as a Teacher includes a 75 minute commitment to one (or more) of the 4 sessions. The sessions are comprised of 5-6, five minute presentations focusing on our career mentors respective industries and career choices. Each presentation will be followed by a question and answer session. Students will learn about a variety of career possibilities, receive a general overview of different industries, and will have the opportunity to interact with the speaker. Our goal is to leave students feeling proactive about their futures and better equipped to capitalize on opportunities in emerging, traditional, and non-traditional fields.

 

Registration

 

Tuesday, April 6: 8:30am – 9:45am MT | 9:30am-10:45am CT

Wednesday, April 14: 10:30am – 11:45am MT | 11:30am – 12:45pm CT

Thursday, April 22: 1:30pm – 2:45pm MT | 2:30pm – 3:45pm CT

Wednesday, April 28: 12:45pm – 2:00pm MT | 1:45pm – 3:00pm CT

Click HERE to select your date and register your class (please note Eventbrite is in MT)

 

Event Details

•   Select the day and time slot that works best for you class – feel free to sign up for multiple sessions

•   Before the session, set up your screen and ensure you have speakers in your classroom

•   Hosted via Microsoft Teams – Simply sign in and we will take care of the rest

 

Topics our Career Mentors will touch on include (but are not limited to):

 

•   How did they get to where they are? Why did they choose this career?

•   What are similar opportunities available in their field?

•   A description of what they do and a typical work day or work week

•   What advice they give students considering their career choice?

 

Thank You

 

We recognize the impact that World of Choices can have on students across Southern Alberta and Manitoba and are excited to continue this event this year! We look forward to connecting young people with career mentors who will provide information and guidance on the future ahead. Thank you for your continued support and willingness to

adapt. We look forward to another successful event this year!

Contact

Manitoba 

Shauna Angers

Urban Program Manager sangers@jamanitoba.org

204-956-6088

 

 

Notre mission est d'inspirer et de préparer les jeunes à réussir dans une économie mondiale.